Argentine G20 gets started with first meeting in Bariloche

Deputies from finance ministries and central banks convene in Bariloche.

The Patagonian city of Bariloche in the province of Río Negro, is the venue for the first official meeting of the Argentine G20. Over 250 delegates from G20 countries, international organizations, and special guests began the dialogue concerning the future of work and investment in infrastructure, two of the priorities of the Argentine G20.

This is the first Argentine G20 meeting of representatives from G20 finance ministries and central banks. In addition to the priorities above, international financial architecture, the global economy, taxation, and financial regulation are also on the agenda.

At the beginning of the meeting, Ariel Sigal, the Argentine Treasury Minister’s Chief of Staff,  introduced G20 Finance Deputy Laura Jaitman, who will represent Argentina together with Demián Reidel, Vice President of the Central Bank of Argentina.

Yesterday, Treasury Minister Nicolás Dujovne and President of the Central Bank Federico Sturzenneger officially opened the two-day event at the Llao Llao Hotel.

The city of Bariloche will be the venue for several G20 meetings throughout the year.

Photo Caption:

The G20’s official agenda of meetings under Argentina’s presidency began in Bariloche. In the family photo of the first meeting of finance minister and central bank deputies, representatives from the following countries and organizations took part: G20 members (Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, the European Union, Germany, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States); invited countries (Chile, the Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland), international organizations (ASEAN – represented by Senegal, Bank of International Settlements, CARICOM – represented by Jamaica, Development Bank of Latin America, Financial Action Task Force, Financial Stability Board, G24, Inter-American Development Bank, International Monetary Fund, Organization for Economic Co-operation & Development, United Nations and the World Bank).

Photos available here: