Senior government officials and civil society meet in Ushuaia, Tierra del Fuego

Representatives of world leaders will address ten work streams at the Second Sherpa Meeting, which runs until Friday. Also taking part today and invited by the Argentine G20 presidency are the G20 engagement groups.

With the traditional G20 family photo, the Second Sherpa Meeting of the Argentine G20 presidency officially kicked off today in Ushuaia, capital of the province of Tierra del Fuego and the world’s southernmost city. Representatives of the leaders of G20 members, invited countries and international organizations are meeting here until Friday 4 May, and expect to make progress on areas such as education, sustainable development and agriculture.

Over the course of the meeting, the G20 sherpas will address the work of ten work streams: agriculture, anti-corruption, climate sustainability, digital economy, education, employment, energy transitions, health, sustainable development, and trade and investment. They expect to be able to advance on the many issues put forward at the First Sherpa Meeting in December 2017, in the Patagonian city of Bariloche. Throughout the year, the sherpas will develop recommendations to be presented to the G20 heads of state and government, who meet in Buenos Aires on 30 November and 1 December 2018.

The three-day meeting in Ushuaia will also benefit from the contribution of the engagement groups that that work in tandem with the G20. They represent different sectors of civil society, including NGOs, labour unions, scientists, academics, and women and youth organizations. Especially invited by the Argentine G20 presidency, the engagement groups will present their work to date and their expectations for the rest of the year.

The official agenda began today at 2.00 pm with the family photo at the Arakur Ushuaia, the venue for the meeting. Argentine G20 Sherpa Pedro Villagra Delgado opened the formal discussions, which will focus on employment, education and the digital economy, and run until 7.30 pm.

On Thursday 3 May, participants will discuss sustainable development, anti-corruption, health, and energy, amongst other issues. The final session on Friday 4 May will focus on trade and investment as well as agriculture. The meeting will conclude at 1.30 pm.

Representatives from all G20 members are attending this meeting: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, Germany, the European Union, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States. Also present are representatives of invited countries: Chile, the Netherlands, and Spain, as well as Jamaica, which is representing the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), Singapore, representing the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), and Senegal, representing the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD).

Representatives of the following international organizations partnered with the G20 are also taking part: the Development Bank of Latin America (CAF), the Financial Stability Board (FSB), the Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), the International Labour Organization (ILO), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the Organization for Economic Cooperation & Development (OECD), the United Nations (UN), the World Bank, the World Health Organization (WHO), and the World Trade Organization (WTO).

About the G20

The G20 started out in 1999 as a meeting of finance ministers and central bank governors. In 2008, amidst the global financial crisis, it evolved into what it is today: a major forum for dialogue and decision-making attended by world leaders from vital economies. Together, the G20 members represent 85% of global GDP, two-thirds of the world’s population, and 75% of international trade.

About the Engagement Groups

The seven G20 engagement groups represent different sectors of society. They include the Business 20, which brings together the private sector; the Civil 20 for non-governmental organizations; the Labour 20 for trade unions; the Science 20 for the scientific community; the Think 20 for think tanks and the academic community; the Women 20 for women’s organizations; and the Youth 20 for youth organizations. They are independent and meet in tandem with the G20 to keep up a fluid dialogue with the G20 leaders, communicating on behalf of their respective sectors by sharing impactful suggestions and initiatives.